Yu Ji Soo

President of Kookmin University

President Yu Ji Soo became a professor at Kookmin University in 1987. Over the past 30 years since, he has taught at the university’s College of Business Administration and been appointed as the 10th and 11th president of Kookmin University. He received his MBA from Illinois State University and his Ph.D from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. In 2007, he was honored with the President’s Award at the 4th Automobile Day and again in 2015 with the Prize for Excellence in the “media contribution” category at the 26th Market Economy Grand Prize Award Ceremony hosted by the Federation of Korean Industry. He was also named Alumni of the Year by Illinois State University in 2016.

Kookmin University is the first private university that was established after the Republic of Korea’s liberation from Japan. Founded on September 1, 1946, the university received support from major figures in the Provisional Government of the Republic of Korea, which was based in Shanghai at the time and led by “Haegong” Shin Ik Hee, the first House Speaker of the National Assembly. Throughout its 71 years of history, Kookmin University has remained dedicated to educating promising global leaders and arming them with the knowledge they need based on a sense of community and pragmatism.

유지수 총장은 1987년 교수로 임용되어 30년 간 국민대학교 경영대학 교수로 재직 중이며, 제10·11대 국민대학교 총장에 선임되었다. Illinois State University, M.B.A와 University of Illinois at Urbana & Champaign을 졸업하였으며, 2007년 제4회 자동차의 날 대통령 표창을 받았으며, 2016년도에는 Illinois State University에서 ‘올해의 동문상’을 수상하였다.